About Us

American Indian Community House (AICH) was founded in 1969, by Native American volunteers as a community-based organization, mandated to improve the status of Native Americans, and to foster inter-cultural understanding.

Celebrate over 50 years of culture and community

with us at www.aich50winters.com

AICH is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization serving the needs of Native Americans residing in New York City.

Our Mission

The mission of American Indian Community House (AICH) is to improve and promote the well-being of the American Indian Community and to increase the visibility of American Indian cultures in an urban setting in order to cultivate awareness, understanding and respect.

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.33.53 PM.pn

Our Community

The AICH community is currently composed of Native Americans from 72 different tribes. Native American migration between urban centers and reservations demonstrates the inter-relatedness of all Native Americans, and from this reality emerges the recognition that our issues and concerns are truly shared.

We Need Your Support Today!

AICH Staff

Sheldon Raymore

Deputy Director (2018) 

Cheyenne River Sioux

Tanis Parenteau

Events and Media Manager

Métis Nation of Alberta and is of Cree descent

Anthony Enos

Two-Spirit Content and Web Development 


Emily Preis

Junior Organizer/ Executive Assistant

Osage Nation

Aru Apaza

Amara Nation

Garden & Archive Manager

Social Impact Program Assitant & Translator

Carlos Rodriguez

Purepecha & Taino descendent

AICH Historical Archive Project

Board of Directors 2020-21

Screen Shot 2021-02-13 at 2.33.59 PM.png

George Stonefish

no pronouns

Delaware Lenape First Nation

Screen Shot 2021-01-25 at 9.22.25 PM.png

Renee Hunter


Shinnecock Nation

Screen Shot 2021-01-24 at 8.36.09 PM.png

Frances Grumbley


Mohawk of Akwesasne

Screen Shot 2021-01-24 at 8.34.33 PM.png

Lance Richmond


Mohawk of Akwesasne

Screen Shot 2021-01-24 at 8.39.54 PM.png

Mary Brown she/her/hers

Cherokee Nation Citizen 


Pena Bonita



Betty Lyons



Jennifer Kreisberg